Vanarama National League South
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out


Weston-super-Mare AFC have released a squad update, ahead of the club’s return to the National League South.

Following end-of-season discussions, Ben Griffith, Noah Coppin, Olly Mehew, Jack Holmes and Nat Williams have departed the Optima Stadium for new challenges elsewhere, whilst discussions are ongoing with Elis Watts.

We can confirm that the following players remain contracted to or have recently extended contracts with the club for at least the 23/24 season:

Luke Purnell
Jason Pope
Scott Laird
Lloyd Humphries
Jay Murray
Dayle Grubb
Keiran Thomas
Jordan Bastin
Reuben Reid
Sam Avery
Marlon Jackson
Bailey Kempster
Jacob Jagger Cane
James Dodd

First Team Manager, Scott Bartlett, said:

At this stage of the season, there is a natural line in the sand where people evaluate their individual situations. There are a lot of factors to be considered and inevitably some players move on to find their next challenge.

“I have nothing but good to say about the boys that are leaving us, I’d like to place on record my thanks to them, I am sure they will all go on to do well.

“They have contributed to making us stronger as a squad which was a huge part of our success this season.

“Our recruitment model is different from other clubs and that serves us well. Our planning for next season started some time ago and we are well underway in the recruitment process to strengthen further.

“Going into the main summer period, this will include further contract extensions for some existing players and also additions to our squad.

“Young players Dan Maspero and Oscar Collins will join us for pre-season, with the possibility of others being included also”.

We’d like to place on record our thanks to all the players who are departing the club. Everyone at Weston-super-Mare AFC wishes you well for the future.

Leave a Reply