Vanarama National League South
shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

Weston super Mare v Taunton Town

Weston super Mare 2 - 0 Taunton Town
25 Feb 2020 - 19:45The AJN Stadium (Keynsham Town FC)

A James Waite brace in the second half saw Weston beat Taunton 2-0 and progress to the Somerset Cup semi-final.

Taunton had the early pressure when Callum Watts had a shot deflected wide from 25 yards before Ollie Chamberlain had a volley saved by Luke Purnell from the resulting corner. Purnell was out quickly to stop a Dan Demkiv one-on-one as the Peacocks looked to get the opening goal.

Jamie Short had a shot smack off the bar from 25 yards before he headed wide a Noah Coppin cross. Sam Hendy had Weston’s first real opportunity as he headed wide a Tom Llewellyn cross with Lloyd Irish then keeping out Hendy’s shot superbly from six yards after Issac Pearce’s pass across the face of goal.

Jarrad Welch glanced wide a corner from Ryan Jones before Hendy glanced wide a free header from Jones’ cross just before the interval.

Purnell dived expertly to his right after the half-time break to keep out Coppin’s close-range effort before Hendy drove straight at Irish from 25 yards after bringing the ball down.

Weston broke the deadlock midway through the half when a cross from substitute Ben Griffith found Llewellyn at the back post. His shot was pushed away by Irish but straight back to the winger, who cut the ball back for Waite to drill in from 12 yards out.

Weston doubled their lead a couple of minutes later when a ball over the top was taken down by Llewellyn. He charged into the box and squared the ball back for Waite to drill in from a similar angle to his first.

The Seagulls had one final chance when Pearce fired at goal on his left inside the area but Irish tipped over the bar.

Weston saw the game out comfortably as they now progress to the semi-final where they will face Hengrove Athletic.

FT: Weston 2-0 Taunton (Waite 73, 75)

Weston XI: Purnell, Goodall, Jones, Humphries (Griffith HT), Avery (C), Parsons, Llewellyn, Hendy, Welch, Waite (Kempster 77), Pearce. Unused substitutes: Knowles, Tindle, Symons.

MOTM: James Waite